top of page

Core Competencies

FNHMA focuses on competencies that are essential for a professional active in First Nations health management. Competencies have been grouped into ten core domains of knowledge and skills with a listing of competency indicators.

FNHMA's ten core competency domains:

  1. Leadership and Governance

  2. Professionalism

  3. Advocacy, Partnerships and Relationships

  4. Human Resources Management

  5. Financial Management and Accountability

  6. Health Services Delivery

  7. Quality Improvement and Assurance

  8. Planning

  9. Communication

  10. Cultural Awareness

These professional competencies:

Serve as a base for the curriculum development of the Certified First Nations Health Managers Program;

Assist in preparation for the CFNHM professional examination;

Identify and measure practical work experience requirements;

Assist to develop continuing professional development services;

Serve as a tool to conduct a self-assessment to identify areas requiring professional development;

An evaluation tool in the Prior Learning and Assessment Recognition (PLAR) program;

Support in recruitment and selection; and

Support in performance management and evaluation.


The competencies are general and pertinent to all types of First Nations organizations.

bottom of page